Spring Break for a Law Student

I’m currently on Day 4 of my spring break and I’ve already relaxed with friends, visited Portland, and marathon-ed the first half of Veronica Mars season 1. The weather has also been beautiful in Oregon which almost seems like a reward for the 2 and a half months of  classes, clinics,and papers we’ve worked through this year. Once class was over on Friday, my friends and I even outlawed the topic of law school in our conversations, drank mimosas and watched basketball (the basketball viewing was kind of forced on me, but I just went with it).

Even though this is technically a break, it’s not. Law school is always on my mind. I feel a tad bit guilty when I take 3 hours to get out of bed, eat breakfast, shower and get dressed. Because unlike college quarter systems (which I had in undergrad), we didn’t have finals right before spring break. Yes, we did have a massive appellate brief due so I felt justified in simply enjoying time with my friends and my bed for a day or two but that’s slowly starting to wear off.

Because now it’s almost halfway through the break and I have a list of school related things on my to-do list. I need to catch up on the reading that I skipped to write my paper. I need to practice my oral argument because that’s next week. I need to continue outlining to get ready for finals. Yes, we still have 4 weeks of classes but that is nothing in the eyes of a law student. Especially since I want to do better in school than I did last semester, all of this is constantly running through my head. The start of next week will definitely come too soon for me and I don’t want to have just wasted my break away. However, I also don’t want to waste the free time I have right now.

So for me, and anyone else who maybe feels like this, I just remind myself to work on the things I want to get done but also don’t forget that this is a break. This is our reward because law school is hard. Law school sometimes sucks the fun out of life, and if it has for you, spend a good amount of this week doing something that makes you happy. Life is wasted if you’re not at least doing something you like.

I’m currently a little stressed out about all the things I need to do but it’s also noon and I’m still in my pajamas, which makes me happy. Next, I’m going to clean my apartment and do the dishes because even though that’s all procrastination, it still makes me feel good because then I’ll have a clean apartment and an empty sink. See? It’s all about balance.

I also wrote a blog post on my feelings and not about an actual legal issue….what can i say, it’s break. Now go enjoy the sun before it goes away and listen to this song by Olly Murs because he’s adorable and it will make you happy.

One response to “Spring Break for a Law Student

Leave a Reply

